Thursday, June 17, 2010

The Six Building Blocks of Early Literacy

  • Narrative skills, which involve the ability to describe things and events and to tell stories.
  • Print motivation, in which children become interested in and enjoy books.
  • Vocabulary, or knowing the names of things.
  • Print awareness, in which children notice print, know how to handle a book and how to follow the words on a page.
  • Letter knowledge, in which children understand letters are different from each other, know their names and sounds and recognize that letters are everywhere.
  • Phonological awareness, in which youngsters are able to hear and play with the smaller sounds in words.

    Check back for photos and updates of how we're sharing these pre-reading skills with children and their parents in our community!

  • Every Child Ready to Read® @ your library® is a program of the Public Library Association and the Association for Library Service to Children, divisions of the American Library Association. Every Child Ready to Read® @ your library® is a registered trademark and is used with permission.

    No comments:

    Post a Comment